South Carolina ends up inviting in a dominant way


  • November 16-18, 2022
  • University of South Carolina Natatorium, Columbia, SC
  • SCY (25 meters)
  • Results on Meet Mobile: “2022 Gamecock Swimming Invitational”
  • 2022 NCAA qualifying times
  • Day 2 review

South Carolina put on another dominating performance tonight, winning all but one event in the final session of the meet.

Hayley Mason opened the night and won the 1650 by almost eight seconds ahead of UNCW Brooke Knisely for a time of 16:28.92. On the men’s side Raphael Davila dominated the field in 15:11.77, nearly 24 seconds faster than his teammate Jose Castro.

The 200-back final was deep, with the top six swimmers breaking 2:00.00. Tatiana Salkutan won for South Carolina in 1:54.84 while Bella Pantano was second with 1:55.22, followed by Megan Maholic at 1:57.52. Salcutan’s time was the third-best in program history, while Pantano rose to fourth-fastest and Maholic to tenth-fastest.

JanieSmith and Dylan Scholes broke 50.0 in the 100 free, with Smith winning with 48.98 and Scholes second with 49.12. The swim marked the first time Scholes broke the 50.0 mark.

The only event South Carolina didn’t win was the Men’s 100 Free at UNCW’s Jacob Duracinsky clocked a 44.42. He beat second place Michael Laitarovsky (44.57) by 0.15 hundredths.

South Carolinas Liam Kern Beat UNCWs Aiden Duffy to be the only swimmer to dunk under 2:00.0 in tonight’s 200 breaststroke with a time of 1:59.41.

South Carolina took the top five places in the women’s 200 fly, led by Greta Pelzek (1:57.45). All five of her swimmers broke 2:00.0. Pelzek’s time was just short of her personal best, but teammate Nicholle Toh tied hers at 1:58.32.

South Carolina’s A and B relays took a 2-1 lead in the women’s final season. The A-Team of JanieSmith, Aubrey Chandler, Amy Riordanand Dylan Scholes combined to win in 3:16.43. The swim was the second fastest in program history.

The men’s race was a little closer, with the South Carolina team Guy Groper, Mark Shepherdkin, Erge Gezmisand Michael Laitarovsky won in 2:57.23, beating UNCW by just over a second.

Team Final Results:


  1. South Carolina—1818.50
  2. UNCW – 1107.50
  3. Vanderbilt-629
  4. FGCU-611
  5. South Georgia – 322
  6. North Florida – 278
  7. Gardner-Webb – 264


  1. South Carolina—1105
  2. UNCW-853
  3. Gardner-Webb – 676