Ott is the SC Chamber’s House Legislator of the Year

T&D Employee Report

COLUMBIA – The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce (SC Chamber) hosted its 43rd Annual Summit presented by Ogletree Deakins last week at The Sanctuary at Kiawah Island Golf Resort.

In addition to providing programming and exclusive networking opportunities, the summit celebrated the recipients of various annual awards.

“As the SC Chamber acts on behalf of our state’s business community, it’s important to recognize the companies, organizations and individuals that make South Carolina an even better place to live and work. A thriving economy creates opportunity and prosperity for all South Carolina residents,” said Bob Morgan, President and CEO of the Chamber. “It was my pleasure to honor the 2022 honorees at the annual summit alongside more than 200 business leaders from the Palmetto State.”

Calhoun State Assemblyman Russell L. Ott, D-District 93, was recognized as Legislator of the Year 2022 for his unwavering commitment to the business agenda and willingness to work bipartisanly to drive pro-business policies such as broadband deployment and infrastructure investment and Liability Protection.

Re-elected lawmakers ready to go to work

A native of St. Matthews, Ott has championed rural South Carolina since his election to the House of Representatives in 2013. Ott currently serves as Deputy Minority Leader and serves on the Labor, Trade and Industry and Legislative Oversight Committees. He is also a member of the recently created Ad Hoc Committee on State Economic Development and House Modernization.

Ott was re-elected to a new two-year term as District 93 representative on November 8.

David Pankau, CEO of BlueCross BlueShield South Carolina, was recognized as the 2022 Business Person of the Year for his leadership at BlueCross BlueShield, contributions to the Palmetto State business community and impact throughout South Carolina.

South Carolina Superintendent of Education Molly Spearman was honored as the 2022 State Employee of the Year for her contributions to the overall wellbeing and health of the state by championing South Carolina’s educators and preparing the state’s future leaders.

Secretary William F. Grimsley, South Carolina Department of Veterans Affairs, was honored with the 2022 Sgt. William Jasper Freedom Award for his contributions to the freedom of South Carolina and the nation and for his service as an advocate for the state’s veterans and their families.

SC Senate Finance Committee Chairman Harvey Peeler, R-District 14, was honored as Senate Legislator of the Year 2022 for his advocacy for tax modernization and relief during the 2022 legislative session and for his long-standing support of the business community. Peeler is also a past recipient of the Public Servant of the Year award.

Operation Patriots FOB, a nonprofit organization with a mission to create and nurture positive experiences for veterans by connecting them through outdoor and recreational activities, was recognized with the 2022 Boeing Veterans Leadership Award for outstanding service to South Carolina’s veterans .

Calhoun County Opposes Changes; Orangeburg votes roll in while Bamberg approves Sunday alcohol

Savannah River Nuclear Solutions and Shutterfly were recognized with the 2022 Excellence in Workplace Diversity Awards for their significant investments in programs and initiatives that inspire progress toward diversity, inclusion and economic wellbeing for all South Carolina residents.

Boone Morgan and Clifford L. Bourke III were recognized as recipients of the 2022 South Carolina Business Week Scholarships for their academic excellence and exceptional leadership demonstrated at Business Week last summer.

The South Carolina Chamber of Commerce is a statewide organization advocating for state and federal employment and business policies. Learn more at

Get for $1 for 26 weeks