Lembo named semi-finalist for Broyles Award

Associate Head Coach/Special Teams Coordinator at the University of South Carolina Peter Lembo is one of 15 semifinalists for the 2022 Broyles Award, which honors college football’s best assistant coach, the Frank & Barbara Broyles Foundation announced today.

Lembo, who is in his second season with the Gamecocks, has his units ranked #1 in ESPN’s special teams efficiency rankings. The Gamecocks rank among the nation’s best in blocked punts (T2nd school record 5), blocked kicks (T2nd-6), punt returns (2-18.70), kickoff returns (4-25.47), net pokes (9-42.47), punt return defense (12-3.00) and kickoff return defense (13-16.65).

Individual, weather Kai Kroeger is averaging 45.8 yards per punt this season, 10th in the country and one of 10 semifinalists for the Ray Guy Award; place kicker Mitch Jeter is a perfect 9v9 in field goal attempts; kick returner Xavier Legette averaged 31.5 yards per return, including a 100-yard touchdown return against Texas A&M; and punt returners Josh Van averages 15.1 yards per return.

A 43-member selection committee made up of respected former head coaches, broadcasters and a committee representing the FWAA will select five finalists from the list of nominees and one overall winner.

The 2021 Broyles Award Winner was Josh Gattis, who was offensive coordinator at the University of Michigan. Gattis is now the offensive coordinator at the University of Miami. Previous winners can only be nominated for the Broyles Award after completing three seasons.

Proceeds from the 2022 Broyles Award support the Broyles Foundation’s mission to provide a game plan for Alzheimer’s caregivers through education, support and resources. The Broyles Foundation can be followed on Facebook, Twitter and Instagram.

Florida State – Alex Atkins, offensive coordinator/offensive line
Georgia – Todd Monken, offensive coordinator/quarterbacks
Illinois — Ryan Walters, defensive coordinator
Iowa — Phil Parker, defensive coordinator/defensive backs
Louisiana State University — Matt House, defensive coordinator
Michigan — Jesse Minter, defensive coordinator
North Carolina — Phil Longo, offensive coordinator/quarterbacks
Ohio State — Jim Knowles, defensive coordinator/linebacker
Oregon — Kenny Dillingham, offensive coordinator
Penn State — Manny Diaz, defensive coordinator/linebacker
South Carolina — Pete Lembo, assistant head coach/special teams
Tennessee-Alex Golesh, offensive coordinator/tight ends
Texas Christian University – Garrett Riley, offensive coordinator/quarterbacks
University of Southern California – Shaun Nua, line of defense
Washington — Ryan Grubb, offensive coordinator/quarterbacks