Patrick Kiprop finishes All-America, Arkansas, 23rd in the NCAA Championships

STILLWATER, Okla. – Arkansas No. 20 finished 23rd in the final cross-country meet of the season and scored 584 points in the NCAA championships hosted by the state of Oklahoma Saturday morning.

Patrick Kiprop led the Razorback roster and finished 24th to earn an All-America honor when he covered the 10,000 meter distance in 29:27.1. The points tally for UA was 23-116-131-146-168.

This was the third consecutive year for an Arkansas All-America in cross country, earning a total of seven awards in that span. The Razorbacks have earned All-America honors in 13 of the last 15 cross-country seasons.

“Patrick did a great job and got into the race straight away,” said Chris Bucknam, Arkansas men’s head coach. β€œHe looked comfortable most of the time. Finishing in the top 25 in his first Division I Cross Country Championship is outstanding. He stuck his nose in and did a phenomenal job for us.

β€œAs far as the team is concerned, we were hoping for a top 20 finish and we didn’t quite get there with 23rd place. I’m proud of this team, how they did. They were all selected and just didn’t have our best race today. We still beat some teams that finished ahead of us earlier this season like Montana State and Alabama.

Myles Richter finished the race as the second Arkansas runner in the field of 255 runners and finished 139th with a time of 30:31.0. Ben Shearer finished 155th as the third Razorback, covering the distance in 30:37.9 as he climbed 11 places in the final 1K with a 3:13.5 split. Scherer was 12th among newcomers to the field.

Jacob McLeod finished 175th with 30:47.8 while Elias Schreml ran for 201st with 31:04.6 as the pair competed for the Razorbacks team title. Ryan Murphy (207th, 31:08.5) and Josh Shearer (243rd, 32:08.8) were the sixth and seventh Arkansas runners in the field.

Stanford’s Charles Hicks won the singles title in 28:43.6 ahead of the Northern Arizona tandem of Nico Young (28:44.5) and Drew Bosley (28:55.9). Dylan Jacobs of Tennessee was fourth in 28:58.0.

Northern Arizona (2-3-18-24-36) and host Oklahoma State (5-8-11-29-30) tied with 83 points each, and the Lumberjacks took the championship again with a 3-2 edge in tie breaker. BYU scored 132 points and placed third, while Stanford was fourth with 195.

Tennessee ranked 20th and led the SEC schools on the field, followed by Arkansas in 23rd while Ole Miss and Alabama finished 24th and 27th respectively.

teams: 1. Northern Arizona, 83 (tie-breaker win, 3-2); 2. Oklahoma State, 83; 3.BYU, 132; 4. Stanford, 195; 5. Wachwald, 204; 6.Wisconsin, 212; 7th Air Force, 264; 8. Colorado, 281; 9. Tulsa, 304; 10. North Carolina, 323; 11. NC State, 334; 12. Syracuse, 340; 13. Gonzaga, 400; 14.Washington 422; 15. Notre Dame, 450; 16. Oregon, 465; 17.Harvard, 474; 18.Texas, 506; 19. Villanova, 513; 20. Tennessee, 517; 21. Butler, 553; 22.Virginia, 557; 23 Arkansas, 584; 24. Ole Miss, 598; 25. State of Montana, 599; 26. State of Utah, 618; 27. Alabama, 683; 28. State of Colorado, 704; 29.Michigan, 708; 30. Princeton, 712; 31. George Town, 752.