Mid-Prairie tops the all-district volleyball list

The Iowa Girls Coaches Association released its all-district lists for the sport of volleyball last week, and the Union Area’s small schools filled the list in a few grades.

After a 27-12 season, the Mid-Prairie Golden Hawks led the area with five names on the list. Four of those were players, and one was head coach Sherry Evans.

Evans received Class 3A All-Southeast District Coach of the Year honors after leading her team to not only a 27-win season, but also a second-place finish in the River Valley Conference South Division and a place in the Substate Championship Game .

The Golden Hawks fell in that Substate title game, dropping it in three sets to eventual Class 3A champion Davenport Assumption.

Mid-Prairie’s Jovi Evans fixes the ball for the Golden Hawks during their Class 3A Regional Finals game on Tuesday October 25, 2022. (Hunter Moeller/The Union)

Senior hitter Ella Groenewold and setter Landry Pacha both made the Class 3A Southeast list for Mid-Prairie. Also on the list were sophomore libero Dakota Mitchell and freshman hitter/setter Jovi Evans.

Six area elders were listed on the Class 1A list. Three of them were players from New London. WACO and Winfield-Mount Union each had two on the list.

New London’s Emma Nye (pictured) was one of three New London players named to the Class 1A All-Southeast District list by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association. (Andy Krutsinger/The Union)

New London hit Natalie Burden, setter Elly Manning and libero Emma Nye were all included on the Class 1A list. WACO batsman Ellah Kissell and setter Grace Coble were on the list, as were Winfield-Mount Union batsman Bradie Buffington and libero Keetyn Townsley.

CLASS 1A SOUTHEAST ALL COUNTIES: Abby Korschgen (12), Notre Dame; Bradie Buffington (12), Winfield-Mount Union; Brooke Mueller (12) Holy Trinity; Brookelyn Hemlsey (12) Sigourney; Caitlin Jensen (12), North Cedar; Ellah Kissell (12), WACO; Elly Manning (12), New London; Emily Hemphill (11), Wavello; Emma Nye (12), New London; Gabby Deery (12), Notre Dame; Grace Bean (12), Belle Plaine; Grace Coble (12), WACO; Janessa Blomme (12), HLV; Keetyn Townsley (12), Winfield-Mount Union; Maddy Chizen (12) Belle Plaine; Mary Kate Bendlage (11), Holy Trinity; Natalie Burden (12), New London; Presley Myers (9), Holy Trinity.

CLASS 1A COACH OF THE YEAR: Mike Davis, Notre Dame

CLASS 2A SOUTHEAST ALL-DISTRICT: Abby Bence (12), West Burlington; Ava Czarnecki (11), Lisbon; Haley Steffener (11), Mediapolis; Hanna Wagenbach (11), Mediapolis; Iva Senio (12), West Branch; Kali Nelson (12), Lisbon; Kate Shafer (10), EBF; Madelynn Falco (10), West Branch; McKenna Marlow (12), West Burlington; Molly Shafer (10), EBF; Peyton Robinson (12), Lisbon; Reese Naeve (9), Regina; Sophia Armstrong (12), West Burlington; Sydney Wagner (11), Regina; Taylor Drayfalh (12), Wilton; Whitney Klyn (12), EBF.


CLASS 3A SOUTHEAST ALL-DISTRICT: Abby Matt (12), Van Meter; Ava Schubert (12), Ascension; Ava Shepard-Harris (12), Ascension; Avary Calonder (12), Tipton; Brooklyn Buysse (12), West Liberty; Dakota Mitchell (10), mid-prairie; Ella Groenewold (12), mid-prairie; Ellie Schubert (10), Ascension Day; Jovi Evans (12), mid-prairie; Landry Pacha (12), mid-prairie; Maggie Johnson (11), Ascension; Makayla Morrison (12), Central Lee; Monica Morales (12), West Liberty; Sophia Young (12), Davis County; Sophie Buysse (12), West Liberty; Sophie Waber (12), Albia.

CLASS 3A SOUTH EAST CAR OF THE YEAR: Sherry Evans, Mid-Prairie.

CLASS 4A SOUTHEAST ALL-DISTRICT: Addy Janssen (11), Dallas Center Grimes; Annalize Buxton (10), Burlington; Aspen Nelson (10), Indianola; Brittany Bacorn (11), Knoxville; Brynn Bishop (11), Indianola; Grace Dehmer (11), Norwalk; Katie Scheckel (9), Pella; Kaylee Koudelka (11), North Pole; Lauren McGriff (12), Carlisle; Makayla Howard (12), Clinton; Maleah Walker (12), Oskaloosa; Noelle Sutcliffe (11), Norwalk; Tiana Gehling (12), North Pole.

CLASS 4A SOUTH EAST CAR OF THE YEAR: Kent Halstead, Indanola.