Hawkeye Game Day: Iowa in Minnesota


WEEK 11: 3:00 p.m., Huntington Bank Stadium

SERIES: Minnesota 62-51-2


Who is under the middle: While senior sixth-year quarterback Tanner Morgan struggled with injuries, redshirt freshman Athan Kaliakmanis worked under center in the Golden Gophers’ 31-3 win over Northwestern last weekend. The 6-foot-4 Antioch, Illinois native, a former Iowa recruit, rallied Minnesota from a 10-0 deficit to win 20-13 in Nebraska on Nov. 5. Both quarterbacks have played in eight games with Morgan He completed 67.3% of his 103 passes and Kaliakmanis scored on 46.6% of his 58 attempts.

People also read…

Johnson’s Feet: Minnesota’s defense is designed to stop the run, the latest challenge for Iowa freshman Kaleb Johnson. The rookie running back has led the Hawkeyes in rushing four times this season, including in Iowa’s last three games, and gained 350 of his 610 yards. Johnson enters Saturday’s game 58 yards from breaking Tyler Goodson’s Hawkeye freshman rushing record.

Elite Center: Iowa saw the impact an elite center can have a year ago when Tyler Linderbaum received the Rimington Trophy as the nation’s best. Minnesota’s offensive line is built around a senior who Pro Football Focus ranked as the top-rated center in college football this season. John Michael Schmitz, a 6-4, 320-pound native of Flossmoor, Illinois, anchors a line that’s helping Minnesota average 221.2 rushing yards per game.

Big Legs: Kickers Matthew Trickett of Minnesota and Drew Stevens of Iowa have regularly contributed to their teams’ offense. Trickett, who is perfect in five 40-yard attempts, has had 11 of 12 field goal attempts with a season-long 49-yard streak. Stevens has made 13 of 15 field goal attempts and 5 of 7 attempts from 40 yards or more. The freshman’s season is 54 yards long.

The trophy line: As it has since 1935, bacon is at stake as Iowa and Minnesota renew their border rivalry. Floyd of Rosedale, the bronze likeness of a real pig that was once the subject of a bet between the governors of the two states, will go to the winner of Saturday’s game. Iowa has won the award-winning porker 43 times and Minnesota has claimed it 42 times since it was first awarded. The Hawkeyes have had possession for seven years since the Golden Gophers last won it in 2014 in a 51-14 win over Iowa.


IOWA (6-4, 4-3)


Spencer Petras;141;251;5;1,495;5

Kaleb Johnson;118;610;5.2;5

Leshon Williams;94;329;3.5;2

Gavin Williams;40;125;3.1;0

Arland Bruce IV;11;47;4.3;1

Sam LaPorta;49;506;10.3;1

Nico Ragaini;24;294;12.3;1

Arland Bruce IV;17;177;10.4;1

Lukas Lachey;13;196;15.1;2

INTERCEPT: Cooper DeJean 4, Kaevon Merriweather 3

BAGS: Joe Evans 6, Luke Van Ness 6, Deontae Craig 4.5, Logan Lee 3

TACKLE: Jack Campbell 100, Seth Benson 73, Cooper DeJean 60, Quinn Schulte 56, Kaevon Merriweather 41

POINT RETURN: Arland Bruce IV 17-125-7.4, Cooper DeJean 5-99-19.8

KICKOFF RETURNS: Kaleb Johnson 11-271-24.6, Riley Moss 4-93-23.3

MINNESOTA (7-3, 4-3)


Tanner Morgan;103;153;5;1,324;7

Athan Kaliakmanis;25;58;3;460;1

Mohamed Ibrahim;238;1,261;5.3;18

Bryce Williams;47;229;4.9;3

Athan Kaliakmanis;21;105;5.0;1

Brevyn Spann-Ford;31;374;12.1;2

Daniel Jackson;26;355;13.7;2

Michael Brown-Stephens;22;338;15.4;0

Chris Autman-Bell;11;214;19.5;1

INTERCEPT: Tyler Nubin 4, Jordan Howden 2, Terell Smith 2, Justin Walley 2

BAGS: Danny Stiggow 3.5, Thomas Rush 2

TACKLE: Mariano Sori-Marin (69), Tyler Nubin (47), Cody Lindenberg (45), Jordan Howden (41), Terell Smith (34).

POINT RETURN: Quentin Redding 11-75-6.9

KICKOFF RETURNS: Quentin Redding 13-309-23.8


Minnesota RB Mohamed Ibrahim vs Iowa LB Jack Campbell: The sixth-grader from the Golden Gophers leads the nation with 18 touchdowns this season and ranks fourth in the country at an average of 140.1 rushing yards per game. The 5-foot-10, 210-pound back who rushed for 144 yards in Iowa’s 2020 game in Minnesota will be the latest challenge for a Hawkeye defense led by senior linebacker Jack Campbell. The Big Ten leader, averaging 10 tackles per game, has 100 stops for the season, becoming the first Hawkeye since Josey Jewell in 2015-17 to record 100 or more tackles in consecutive seasons.