2 Hawkeyes win titles at Lindenwood Open – University of Iowa Athletics

ST. CHARLES, Mon.— Two University of Iowa freshmen — Jace Rhodes and Joel Jesuroga — clinched the Black Bracket (freshman division) titles at the Lindenwood Open at the Robert F. Hyland Arena on Saturday.

Two other Hawkeye newcomers – Kolby Franklin and Gage Marty – took third place. The six Iowa contenders finished the tournament with a record 18-6.

Rhodes won his second consecutive title 4-0 and three bonus points – two crashes and a technical fall. The Mason City, Iowa native who won the Luther Open last week pinned Bellarmine’s Shay Korhom in the championship fight in 2:20.

After winning via a technical fall in his first match, Jesuroga won three straight decisions to capture the 149-pound title. In the finals, the Pleasant Hill, Iowa native defeated Paul West 3-2. West went unbound.

Franklin finished third in the gold (open) bracket at 197 pounds. After dropping a 5-2 decision in his first match, the DuBois, Pennsylvania native won four straight matches — two by major decision — before taking revenge with a 5-2 win over Bates for third place occupied.

Marty had three falls that day to earn a third place finish in the black bracket. The Solon, Iowa native had back-to-back pins in the first period to open the tournament before losing 5-3 in the semifinals. Marty scored his fastest fall – in 1:10 – in his first consolation game before defeating UALR’s Keith Miley 7-3 in the battle for third place.

Iowa will send two wrestlers – Jacob Warner and Tony Cassioppi – to the NWCA All-Star Classic in Austin, Texas on Tuesday. The Hawkeyes return Saturday and take on No. 20 Penn at Carver-Hawkeye Arena starting at 2:00 p.m. CT.


149 gold clip
Caleb Tyus (SIUE) Major Dec. Bretli Reyna (UI), 10-2
Brik Filippo (C. Oklahoma) def. Bretli Reyna (UI), MFF

197 gold clip
Evan Bates (NU) Dec. Kolby Franklin (UI), 5-2
Kolby Franklin (UI) Major Dec. Ryan Golnick (Lindenwood), 11-2
Kolby Franklin (UI) Major Dec. Ryan Yarnell (SIUE), 18-7
Kolby Franklin (UI) Dec. Jesse Cassatt (Missouri), 6-3
Kolby Franklin (UI) Dec. Evan Bates (NU), 5-2 –Third place

133 Black Division – Class B
Jace Rhodes (UI) Tech. fall Cedrick Abney (Jarvis Christian College), 17-0
Jace Rhodes (UI) pinned Kade Willis (Maryville) in 2:57
Jace Rhodes (UI) Dec. Elon Rodriguez (Triton), 6-0
Jace Rhodes (UI) pinned Shay Korhom (Bellarmine), 2:20 – First place

149 Black Division
Joel Jesuroga (UI) Tech. fall Ben Zemon (Triton), 16-0
Dec. Joel Jesuroga (UI) Alec Peralta (SIUE), 3-1
Dec. Joel Jesuroga (UI) Easton Hilton (Missouri), 3-1 (SV1)
Dec. Joel Jesuroga (UI) Paul West (Untied), 3-2 – First Place

285 Black Division – Bracket A
Easton Fleshman (UI) pinned Helliot Santana-Guevara (Joilet JC) at 3:16
Easton Fleshman (UI) Dec. Ronald Krewer (Triton), 3-0
Apollo Gothard (UALR) Dec Easton Fleshman (UI), 3-2 (SV1)
Ka’Ron Lewis (Ozarks) Dec. Easton Fleischmann, 2-1 (SV1)

285 Black Division – Bracket B
Gage Marty (UI) pinned Victor Vargas (Morton College) in 1:57
Gage Marty (UI) pinned Allyn Johnson (Triton) at 1:42
Emmett Bivens (Carl Albert St.) Dec. Gage Marty (UI), 5-3
Gage Marty (UI) pinned William Muckler (Bellarmine) 1:10
Gage Marty (UI) Dec. Keith Miley (UALR), 7-3 – Third place